'Gauhati High Court' (237 Words)

The 'Gauhati High Court' as of today emerged from the High Court of Assam. The High Court of Assam was established with effect from 5th April, 1948. The Assam High Court initially had its sittings at Shillong but shifted to Gauhati from 14th August, 1948. Later on, the Assam High Court came to be known as the High Court of Assam and Nagaland. On re-organization of the North-Eastern region, a common High Court was established for the five North-Eastern States Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura and the two Union Territories, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh and called as the Gauhati High Court. By the State of Mizoram Act, 1986, common High Court for the States of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura and Mizoram called the High Court of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura and Mizoram came into being. Later a common High Court for the State of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh came into being.

The Gauhati High Court occupied a unique position of being a common High Court of seven States of North East India, till 23.03.2013, the date of functioning of separate High Courts in Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura. The Principal Seat of the Gauhati High Court is at Guwahati. Apart from the Principal Seat, the High Court has 3 outlying Benches, viz, Kohima Bench, Aizawl Bench and Itanagar Bench. Sir R.F. Lodge was the first Chief Justice of Assam High Court.